Iowa World
Language Association

Dear IWLA,


On Saturday, July 9th 2016, the IWLA Executive Board voted unanimously to adopt the World Language Competencies. This pdf file contains all levels 1-5.


This document is the first completed version of the Iowa World Language Competencies, created after years of work by many educators within and outside of Iowa. These Competencies are meant to serve as a support, resource, and guide for world language educators at all levels in the state of Iowa and beyond. 

This first version of the competencies focuses on languages of Difficulty Category I and II (including Spanish, French, and German). The five levels refer to levels that one might see in a middle or high school program in Iowa geared to teaching native English speakers a world language. Future versions of the Iowa World Language Competencies will expand beyond these areas, and we encourage teachers who teach in different contexts (like elementary programs) or with learners with different backgrounds (like heritage learners) to adapt this version of the Competencies as appropriate. 

IWLA WL Competencies Final Draft 2016


The IWLA Executive Board

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software